... ... ... nudeplatypus.diaryland.com

Nude Platypus


buddies


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links


contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

I-295
2002-03-19, 12:05 p.m.

I went to see my wee little brother in New York this weekend. We had quite a lovely time.

I was driving back from the train station at approximately 2-2:30 in the morning. I was a mere fifteen minutes from home...and my tire blew out.

I sat in my car for a few minutes cursing loudly. My cell phone was not working due to the incompetency of the cell phone company. So, I decided that despite the fact that it was freezing and dark and the tire was facing the interstate and I'd probably get hit and die...I would change the tire.

So, I got the jack and tire iron out and then preceded to attempt to get the spare tire out...but for some odd reason, the makers of my fine automobile decided to bolt the spare to the car (I assume in order to prevent it from shifting around).

However, it was a metal bolt/screw and it was bolted into metal. When metal gets wet...it tends to rust. So, the bolt was rusted into my car and the spare could not be removed.

So, I sat back in my car and cursed some more. Then a state policeman showed up and attempted to remove the bolt as well...but no luck. He nicely drove me home, however.

The next day I went back with a friend and a pair of pliers and the bolt turned ever so slowly. I gave up and decided to just take off the old tire, go buy a new one, bring it back and put it on.

I jacked up the car and found out that I could not remove the lugnuts. I threw the tire iron in frustration. (All this time, my friend's sole contribution was some comments on how cold it was).

But then, a nice guy drove up and offered to change it for me...I told him I couldn't get the spare out. I didn't think he would be able to either...he was a skinny little guy...but it took him all of two seconds. He changed my tire and left and I started to drive as my friend followed me.

The spare promptly went flat.

Today, my phone company finally restored service to my cell phone.

last - next