... ... ... nudeplatypus.diaryland.com

Nude Platypus


buddies


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links


contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Damn DMV
2002-03-29, 7:47 p.m.

I didn't have to go to work-work today...they were closed for Good Friday.

But I did have to come into pseudo-work tonight.

Yesterday at work-work I had a new assignment. I spoke to the client and he owns an inspection facility along with his mechanic shop. It is incorporated. However, he can no longer work as a mechanic due to an injury. So, he wants to move to a friend's place of business and do the inspections from there. His friend's place of business is also incorporated.

He spoke to someone at the DMV--business licensing division--who told him that in order to accomplish this both corporations would have to name someone from each on their board of directors.

I called the person he spoke to. All I wanted was a statute or a code section so that when I drafted the reciprocal resolutions, I would use appropriate language.

When, I spoke to the gentleman at the DMV, I was told that there would have to be a merger of the two corporations. I asked about reciprocal directors. He said this would not do. I asked for a statute or code section.

He put me on hold.

For twenty minutes.

He came back and told me that he asked someone, who asked someone else, who asked someone else who would get back to them with the info.

I left my name and number.

He called back. I was with a client. So, the receptionist took a message.

He left the wrong number. The woman at the wrong number (also a division within the DMV) told me that they don't deal with that and they do not give out that type of information or advice. She then proceeded to advise me on what I needed to do (the reciprocal appointments).

But then I called the gentleman I was speaking to earlier back for the info. He did not have it. And in no uncertain terms, there would have to be a merger.

I spent forever on the phone with these idiots...just to get conflicting answers. I spoke to the attorney I work for...he said to draft the reciprocal appointments because mergers are costly and expensive. If the state turned them down...I would get to start the merger proceedings.

I sat down to begin drafting the documents and the client called.

The other guy's accountant was drawing up the documents...I didn't need to do anything after all.

Damn DMV!

last - next