... ... ... nudeplatypus.diaryland.com

Nude Platypus


buddies


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links


contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Career Services
2003-02-10, 1:22 p.m.

I had an appointment with career services about my career path or lack thereof.

Right off the bat, I told career services guy that I did not want to be a lawyer.

He told me that I had no choice.

I looked at him and told him that yes I do, unless the powers that be force you into taking the bar and practicing law...and I think that someone would have said something by now if that happens.

So, I rephrased my statement and told him that I did not want to practice law, that I did not know what I wanted to do and at this point I was pursuing clerkship opportunities.

He begin to save lists of judges to the disk I brought with me. As he was doing that, he asked me about my current real-job at the law firm (not the faux-work at the law library).

I told him that they loved me there...because they do.

Now, mind you, not ten minutes earlier I had given him a whole spiel about not wanting to practice law. This is important because the next piece of advice he gave me was that I should talk to the people at the law firm about working there after I pass the bar.

I reiterated my "no practice of the law" position. I still don't think he gets it.

last - next