... ... ... nudeplatypus.diaryland.com

Nude Platypus


buddies


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links


contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Stupid Client Lady
2002-09-17, 6:45 p.m.

I had a rather productive day at work.

This is rather unusual because "productive" and "nudeplatypus" are generally not used in conjunction with one another.

But rogs and complaints got drafted. Clients got called and I even helped the other law clerk finish an arb package.

Sweet, helpful nudeplatypus that I am.

My day did have one dark spot.

I had been working on an arbitration package for quite some time. Said package included an amazingly detailed and engaging description of events and a very complicated liability section.

Lawyer-boss (who is very well respected and has been a lawyer for over 25 years) loved it.

But the client came in because the client had concerns about it.

So, this morning I sat with the client and she said to me, "based upon what you wrote do you really think you have what it takes to be a lawyer?"

Please note that it is very difficult to convey the exact amount of condescention in her voice.

In fact, I don't think I have what it "takes" to be a lawyer but still no reason to be a bitch client-lady.

But I ignored the remark and asked about her concerns.

But then she crossed the line.

And let me preface this with saying that I have the greatest respect for a) teachers and b) people who work with kids.

Her next remark was something along with lines with, "I know what I'm talking about, I'm a teacher."

To which I wished to respond, "Lady, you are not a teacher, you are a teacher's assistant in a kindergarten class. I was a teacher's assistant in a kindergarten class. That doesn't make me the authority on writing...being the smartest human alive makes me the authority on writing."

But there's this whole respect the client, be professional blah, blah, blah ethic at work.

So, I was nice and polite. Lawyer-boss said the arb package was perfect and I didn't have to change anything. I like lawyer-boss.

But I really, really hate some people.

last - next