... ... ... nudeplatypus.diaryland.com

Nude Platypus


buddies


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links


contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Who is John Galt
2006-02-05, 12:13 p.m.

The wee little brother went through a serious Ayn RAnd phase when he was in junior high school. I had read Atlas Shrugged and that was about it. But he devoured all her books.

He spent his hard-earned money on her books and they had a special place of honor on his bookshelf.

My wee little brother could also be a pretentious blowhard and when it came time to choose a book for book reports, he of course, chose Atlas Shrugged. I told h ime that it would be funny if he wrote, "Who is John Galt?" and turned that in and only that in as his book report. He did.

The teacher didn't find it amusing...he got an F.

My mother didn't find it amusing...she blamed me (however, my father thought it was funny).

My mom recently found that paper in one of her great purging sessions...the F still boldly written in red ink.

I still find it amusing...my mom still doesn't.

The wee little met and made friends with people smarter than him and he's not such a pretentious blowhard anymore.

The teacher is no longer teaching which is probably a good thing because:
1) when she asked each student thier choice of book, she asked the wee little brother if it had characters. Seriously, she asked if the book had characters

and

2) She graded in red ink. Everyone knows that all great teachers and professors grade in green ink. Look it up.***


***One of my college professors (whom I adored) liked to use green ink. And he liked to use quite a bit of it. He said that since he critiqued down to the word, he used green because with red there was just too much red. Frankly, there was way too much green too.

last - next