... ... ... nudeplatypus.diaryland.com

Nude Platypus


buddies


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links


contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Ugly Fish and Heads of the Household
2003-06-24, 2:24 p.m.

It is freezing in my office�but everyone else, save one other person, likes it this cold, so I will suffer in silence.

I have no words to describe how bored I am.

This entertained me.

Also, there is the follow-up to the story of the woman who was ticketed for breast-feeding her child while driving on the Ohio Turnpike last month. It seems that she is from Michigan and Michigan has an exception to their child-safety laws that allow a woman to remove the baby from its safety seat and breastfeed the baby.

While I question the judgment of the woman who took her baby out of the car seat to breastfeed it while driving on a turnpike, I also have to question the Michigan�s government�s stance that it is okay to not have a child in a car seat for any reason.*** The woman�s first argument was that since it was okay in Michigan (she is a resident of Michigan) she should not get a ticket despite the fact that she was operating the vehicle in Ohio. That is so going to be my argument from now on.

Whenever I get pulled over for speeding and I explain to the cop that I am a resident of Oklahoma and in Oklahoma the speed limit is 75 miles per hour on the interstate and therefore I am not in violation of the law. Or, I�ll just stick with the talking as little as possible as that seems to work for me (I�ve been pulled over a good seven or eight times for speeding and not a ticket yet�I�m working on my speeding issues).

Now, it seems that the woman and her husband are going for a different argument. They are now arguing that she should not be the defendant. Instead, the husband (who was not in the car) should be the defendant because he is the head of the household and according to the Old Testament, he is the only one who can punish his wife for a public act. He is prepared to fight this all the way to the Supreme Court. Nothing interesting like that happens at the law firm where I work.

***(It should be noted that while in high school, there was a drunk driving assembly and they showed horrible pictures of what happens to little kids who aren�t in the car seats and when I was little my next door neighbor was killed because he was not in his car seat.)

last - next