... ... ... nudeplatypus.diaryland.com

Nude Platypus


buddies


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links


contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

No More State Taxes
2003-06-23, 9:05 a.m.

I�ve decided that I am never filing a state tax return ever again. Civil disobedience is the way to go.

I haven�t come to this decision hastily. It has been years in the making.

For the 2000 tax year, I filed in Oklahoma. I soon got a letter. I assumed that it was my return and I tore it open happily only to find a letter saying that the Oklahoma Tax Commission had audited my return and made some changes and I now owed them $750.

After I had calmed down, I looked at the changes. It seemed as though the Oklahoma Tax Commission thought that I had made $85,000 and had four dependents. I called to report that something was amiss and the lady I spoke to was rather rude and snippy and told me that they did not make mistakes and they only go by what the taxpayers write down.

I explained that I do make mistakes but as I was only working part time for just above minimum wage that I did not think that I wrote down $85,000 and I sure as hell didn�t write that I had four dependents. After half an hour on the phone, she agreed to put in an order to have someone look at the return again. I soon got a letter stating that they had made a mistake and they would send me my money. I got the money I was owed minus nine dollars. Six months later, they sent me the nine dollars.

For the 2001 tax year, I filed in New Jersey. I received a letter stating that I owed them $98 because of a use tax. I called and explained that I didn�t owe them money�that they in fact owed me money and the lady was very nice and said she would look into it. Three months later, I got my money.

For the 2002 tax year, I again filed in New Jersey. I waited for my money. I haven�t received it. I called and the lady said that it was approved in April and I should have received it. I said I didn�t. She asked me if I were sure that I had not received it. I said yes and she said that it was then deemed lost and she would start a check tracer and I would receive a response in 90 days.

Seriously, I�m never, ever filing a state tax return again�it�s simply not worth all the drama.

last - next