... ... ... nudeplatypus.diaryland.com

Nude Platypus


buddies


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links


contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Why Does My Telephone Hate Me? Part II
2002-06-18, 10:03 a.m.

It is quite sad when the inanimate objects in your life dislike you.

For instance, a while back I had quite a few problems with my phone .

But after approximately a week or so my phone just suddenly stopped beeping.

Obviously, it had forgiven me for whatever imagined slight.

But a couple of weeks ago, it started beeping again.

It was a different beep and unlike last time, decreasing the volume did not decrease the beep.

So, I went through the whole routine. I gave it new batteries. I apologized for the five hour phone call that my roommate subjected it to. But to no avail.

It hated me.

But woman can triumph over machine. And I did so by unplugging its power source. No more beeping. But I also could not use the phone.

Every once in awhile, I would plug it in to see if it had forgiven me...but all I got was a continuous...beep...beep...beep.

Until this morning, at 4:36 in the morning to be precise. A beeping woke me up.

At first I thought it was my alarm. But then I realized that it was 4:36 in the morning. I would never set my alarm for that time.

After a few minutes, I was cognizant enough to try and figure out where the beeping was coming from.

It was my phone, which is strange because it was not plugged in. Yet it beeped.

I decided that maybe it had forgiven me and was asking for its power source back. So, I plugged it back in and it was mercifully quiet.

I would get rid of the phone, but I'm afraid of what it would do to me if I tried to toss it.

last - next